You are here
Home > NFL > NFL Futures Bets: Is Jimmy G going to win comeback POY Award?

NFL Futures Bets: Is Jimmy G going to win comeback POY Award?

The NFL loves great comeback stories, that’s why they award players that overcome a devasting injury or a poor performance and then the next season, rise up from the ashes like a phoenix and reclaim his position of dominance.

The Associated Press NFL Comeback Player of the Year Award is a fun betting prop to wager on because you’re rooting for something good to happen for a player who shows perseverance and overcomes adversity.

According to Oddsmakers that already have scoured the league, the good fortune will be siding with quarterback Jimmy Garoppolo. The 49er's QB is the betting favorite to have a great season in 2019 after suffering a torn ACL in 2018 during the Week 3 matchup against the Chiefs.

Online sportsbook BetOnline has Garoppolo as a +325 fave to win the AP Comeback Player of the Year Award followed by Jets RB Le’Veon Bell (+450), Falcons RB Devonta Freeman (+1000), Panthers QB Cam Newton (+1400), Eagles QB Carson Wentz (+1600), Ravens safety Earl Thomas (+1600), Redskins RB Derrius Guice (+1600), Cowboys TE Jason Witten (+1600), Cardinals RB David Johnson (+1600) and Rams WR Cooper Kupp (+1600) to round out the top 10 candidates.

Why Jimmy G is the favorite?

Prior to the injury, Garoppolo was considered a savior for San Francisco as the 49ers have been starved for a quarterback since the departures of Alex Smith and Colin Kaepernick and have been in football purgatory. Jimmy G led the Niners on an inspiring run in 2017 when they won five of their last six games with him as the starter and showing the calm and collectiveness of a high-end quarterback after backing up Tom Brady in New England for three seasons.

Now, he is in the driver’s seat to win this award because the Niners have nowhere to go but up and he would be the key reason for their success. San Fran finished 4-12 in 2018 and had to rely on the likes of Nick Mullens and CJ Beathard to keep the team afloat. But, there are probably better canditates with superior value to bet on instead of Jimmy G at +325 although if the 49ers manage to end with a winning record or make a late playoff run in the NFC, the Associated Press would be hard pressed to not handoff the award to Jimmy.

Our Pick to Win Comeback Player Of The Year

Looking back on the AP Comeback Player of the Year winners since 2010, all but one had two things in common: they all returned from injury and their teams made the playoffs.

Become a member and read full story

Join now to get exclusive nightly picks and access to all insider betting knowledge on every major game.


Already a member? Log in